4 YEARS ALREADY?

WordPress just congratulated and reminded me, it has been 4 years since I started blogging! 4 years! Where did all the time go and what did I blog about?

No, I am not second-guessing myself, just a tinge of guilt, because I have met students, strangers and friends, who encourage me to write because they get inspired every time they read my blogs. And yet, I take forever to write. Sorry folks. I will change. I will be better. I will do better. I will be consistent.

Personally, I feel and know it is selfish not to share, as I am well aware, you never know who you’re inspiring or how timely your words might be.

Strangely, before seeing the congratulatory message, I made the decision today to set aside time to blog every other Friday for my personal blogs and twice a month for my company blogs. It will be great to give the many young graduates and professionals I coach, an opportunity to share their ideas on the company blog too. So please hold me to it. And if for some reason, I won’t be blogging on those days, I will try and let you know.

Looking back at 4years, a lot has happened. In 2013, I did a big European tour to interview people for my book The Global Graduates

1.JPG

check it out on Amazon.( https://www.amazon.com/Global-Graduates-inspiring-extraordinaryjourneys/dp/1530107784/ref=sr_1_cc_1s=aps&ie=UTF8&qid=1474340236&sr=1-1-catcorr&keywords=edem+adzaho+the+global+graduate)

I ended up writing and launching 2 books in 2014. The other book “Your Degree Will Never Be Enough-21 keys to graduate readiness” is almost sold out.

2.JPG

It has great reviews from students, professors and industry people alike and has found its way to far places like Botswana, China, Indonesia, Norway, Iceland, Germany, London, The Netherlands, Nigeria, Singapore etc. I am considering a reprint and an updated version. We shall see.

LAUNCH.JPG

Did I mention, 2 of my blogposts made its way into my book, “Your Degree Will Never Be Enough”? Well, expanded versions were used in the chapter on Communication Skills and Networking. There were 21 chapters in all, so there, blogging did help me out.

I do have a confession to make though, after I wrote and launched those 2 books, I was just tired of writing. I didn’t really want anything to do with writing or even promoting the books. I was content with the one off blogs I post, when I felt like it.

Getting back to writing has been tough. I have been inspired so many times and I have loads of unfinished blogposts. I have even started writing 2 other books and left them in limbo. A friend even offered me a column in a very important newspaper and it took me 2 years to send the mandatory 5 stories. Let just say he wasn’t amused.

I have been struggling to write. I have termed it “post writing and publ depression”. It felt like I pushed all the words out and I did not want anything to do with written words.

I could have also promoted the books better and done book tours at home and on the continent and possibly start having serious conversations for the translation of the books into other languages. I was exhausted. But I also know things take time, and I will make the time.

To be fair, I have been writing regularly on Instagram @edemadzaho. Sharing my perspective on life through the photos I take, just so I can practice my love for photography, and also be a better writer. After all, writers write. And yes, I am becoming quite the photographer too. I have discovered a lot about myself through photography, maybe one day I will share.

So in 4 years, I have won awards, spoken to thousands of people in Ghana and parts of Asia to expand my reach and impact my world with my skills and talent.

I have travelled extensively and clocked air-miles to so many places and visited new places like Indonesia, Singapore and China twice in under 4 months, visited Iceland 5 times in 3 years. Stopped over at familiar places like The Netherlands, France, Germany, way so many times to count, whilst developing a fear of flying at times.

singapore.JPG

I have been named the 17th most influential person under 40 in my own country out of 50 equally influential people, and 2nd in my industry of human capacity development.

INFLUENCE.JPG

I was also named one of the outstanding women entrepreneurs this year.

I have done a TEDx talk in my city.

ted.JPG

Started a YouTube channel. https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=kP1Idf3-75U

Tried to ask deep and shallow questions of myself and develop a balancing act.

I learn from my dog everyday.

I have reconnected with valuable old friends, made new meaningful friendships and gave up fake and incompatible ones for my own good.

I also refocused towards building a legacy as opposed to a business. And although I started The Global Graduate Academy http://theglobalgraduateacademy.com in 2012 and took a break in 2013 to research and write my 2 books, I have been consistent with running The Global Graduate Academy since 2014 with the support of some incredible friends and associates God has brought my way. This year we had our first Leadership and Entrepreneurship class. We currently have about 27 Alumni and growing.

ACADEMY.JPG

Running The Global Graduate Academy is the most challenging thing I do each year, but I love every minute of it as I see mindsets shift, I grow professional and my students become my friends.

My first company SPEC Consult Limited is almost 10 years old and I am on a career trajectory that fulfills me. I am all round happy and healthy. For that I am grateful.

So thank you for the past 4 years, for sticking around and for being ever so supportive with your feedback and insights.

I could go on and on about my updates, but see you on Friday!

 

2 thoughts on “4 YEARS ALREADY?

Leave a Reply

