THIS JOURNEY

One day, I hope my story will inspire someone to believe, as well as take baby steps into greatness, as I tell the world how it all started at age 6, selling tapioca, “yoryi”, peanuts, oranges and later at age 10, I will take sugarcane to the butcher’s market at 4:30am and be back by 6am to get ready for school. No, we were not “poor” and please it wasn’t child labour. I just hassled my mum and later my grandmother on most market days to buy me something in season so I could sell.
For the most part, people will never know your back-story.
31

Lets face it, Facebook doesn’t tell the whole story, because “we” spend hours editing and showing the world (friends and strangers) the perfect pictures, so “we” wrongfully get the glory. All that I am, and all that I hope to be, I give credit to God. The same God who as an undergraduate in 1998, put the vision and desire in my heart to start SPEC Consult Limited.

Fews days to Christmas 2007 and I was still at the office after 10pm painting.
Fews days to Christmas 2007 and I was still at the office after 10pm painting.

It has been 8years since I finally took the plunge to run my own business. I am glad I did, because at the last count in 2013, I have trained, coached and mentored over 5000 Ghanaian graduates. I have stopped counting for now. I now focus on training coaching and mentoring the next generation of African leaders to be superstars in their chosen career path. Whether its through employability skills, business know-how or entrepreneurship, the bottom-line is, I am coaching superstars for the continent and the world through the Global Graduate Academy, another initiative by SPEC Consult Limited.
I started the Global Graduate Academy in my garage in 2012 and taught for 6weeks alone. God has brought me great helpers since and last week, we wrapped up the 3rd round of the Global Graduate Academy.

With the Global Graduate Academy class of 2015
With the Global Graduate Academy class of 2015

As I look back at my entrepreneurial journey so far, I am humbled to see how far I have come and I am full of gratitude for the resilience as well as for the helpers and everyone God has sent my way. Thank you everyone.

Back in 2008. We put in the extra hours and  stayed up till 9pm on a Saturday to redecorate the office. (l)Sandister now works for Aljazeera (AJ+)and Michelle is Studying in the USA
Back in 2008. We put in the extra hours and stayed up till 9pm on a Saturday to redecorate the office.
(l)Sandister now works for Aljazeera (AJ+)and Michelle is Studying in the USA
Phyllis congratulating me for pulling it off this year. She supported greatly
Phyllis congratulating me for pulling it off this year. She supported greatly

I just hope that someone out here is encouraged to step up and pursue their dreams. Don’t worry, help will come. Just know that some people will hang around you to just look good, laugh at you, not with you, mock you, disrupt and even try to steal your ideas and your shine, but stay focused,AND smile because the real ones will stay for the right reasons and for the long haul or even show up at the right time.
DSCN9903

Leave a Reply

